Keystone Academy Libraries: MS Science: Grade 6 Biodiversity

Possible Keywords for Biodiversity

Some possible keywords for searches about biodiversity are: biodiversity, palm oil, zoo, whale, aquarium, endangered species, deforestation and marine conservation.

Books in the Middle School Library About Biodiversity

The Middle School Library has some books about biodiversity. Come and have a look!

Biodiversity by Greenhaven Press Editors (Editor); Noah Berlatsky (Editor)
Call Number: 333.95 BER
ISBN: 9780737769043
Publication Date: 2013-10-15
Loss of Biodiversity by David M. Barker
Call Number: 333.95 BAR
ISBN: 1617147745
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Planet Ark: Preserving Earth's Biodiversity by Adrienne Mason; Margot Thompson (Illustrator)
Call Number: 577 MAS
ISBN: 1554537533
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Wildlife in Danger by Valerie Bodden
Call Number: 591.68 BOD
ISBN: 158341987X
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
You Are the Earth by David Suzuki; Kathy Vanderlinden; Wallace Edwards (Illustrator)
Call Number: 333.7 SUZ
ISBN: 1553654765
Publication Date: 2010-09-14

Keystone Middle School Science Databases for Biodiversity

BrainPOP
BrainPOP is an educational website with over 1,000 short animated movies, together with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, mathematics, engineering and technology, health, and arts and music.
Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/

Extinction
Where did the dinosaurs go? In this BrainPOP movie, Tim and Moby give you the lowdown on extinction.

Britannica School
Britannica School provides general encyclopedia information. It is good for finding information about a topic when you begin research. It includes up-to-date information sources and allows you to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed.
Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/
(off campus only)

Aquarium
The term aquarium may refer to a receptacle, such as a goldfish bowl or small tank, in which fishes and other aquatic organisms are kept, or it may refer to a building in which many different forms of aquatic life are put on display for the public or used in research.
Biodiversity
The variety of living things in a given place—whether a small stream, an extensive desert, all the forests in the world, the oceans, or the entire planet—is called its biodiversity, which is short for biological diversity.
Palm oil
A highly colored oil made from the outer fleshy portion of the fruit of the oil palm tree, palm oil is the world’s most widely traded vegetable oil.
Whale
It weighs as much as 20 elephants but lives beneath the sea.
Zoo
A park where captive animals, often from all over the world, live and are exhibited to visitors is a zoo or zoological garden.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/

Deforestation
Deforestation refers to the intentional, permanent clearing of forested areas for commercial or strategic reasons.
Disappearing Orangutans
A centerpiece graphic looking at the endangered orangutan.
Zoos and Aquariums
A topic page with a wide variety of sources covering both sides of the issue.

Newsela
Newsela is a reading tool that provides news articles designed to match a student's reading level.
Only for Faculty and students.
Sign in with your E-mail address and password.

Animal endangerment and its causes
Living things have been disappearing since the beginning of life on our planet.
Earth's animal and plant diversity is going away, say U.N. reports
our new reports show that Earth is losing plants, animals and clean water at a dramatic rate.
Earth is a "living planet" and all life depends on one another to thrive, report says
You might not be aware of endangered animals or plants, but the globe's biodiversity crisis threatens all of humanity.
Restoring ecosystems could bring back wildlife and reduce carbon
The restoration of natural forests and coasts can tackle both climate change and the loss of wildlife, an international group of campaigners has said.
What is biodiversity?
Biodiversity or biological diversity refers to the wide variety of life on the planet.

PebbleGoNext Science
PebbleGo Next Science is for science researchers in grades 3-6. It is a comprehensive digital resource tailored to meet the needs and curriculum of science students.
Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/

Species at Risk
Any living thing that is at risk of extinction, or dying out, is considered an endangered species.
What Is Biodiversity?
Biodiversity is short for "biological diversity."

World Book Online
World Book is a general information encyclopedia database with an American slant. Use this source to find out about your topic when you begin research.
Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/

Aquarium, Public
Aquarium, Public, is an institution where people keep and display fish and other animals that live in water.
San Diego Zoo Safari Park
San Diego Zoo Safari Park is a center for the preservation and display of endangered species.
Zoo
Zoo is a place where people keep and display animals.

中国知网
中国国家知识基础设施（China National Knowledge Infrastructure，CNKI）由清华大学、清华同方发起，始建于1999年6月。旨在为全社会知识资源高效共享提供最丰富的知识信息资源和最有效的知识传播与数字化学习平台。
Username and password shared with teachers only. 仅供教师使用。

读秀 Duxiu
读秀是由海量全文数据及资料基本信息组成的超大型数据库。其以430多万种中文图书、10亿页全文资料为基础，为用户提供深入内容的章节和全文检索，部分文献的原文试读，以及高效查找、获取各种类型学术文献资料的一站式检索，周到的参考咨询服务，是一个真正意义上的学术搜索引擎及文献资料服务平台。

Websites About Biodiversity

Biodiversity
We share our planet with millions of different species.
Biodiversity
The air we breathe, the water we drink and the food we eat all rely on biodiversity.
Global Footprint Network
Global Footprint Network helps national governments understand and manage their natural resources, make confident policy decisions, and create a prosperous future.
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Regions
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) is a membership union composed of both government and civil society organizations. It harnesses the experience, resources and reach of its organizations and the input of its experts.
Project Drawdown
Project Drawdown offers possible solutions for climate change.
What is biodiversity?
Biodiversity comes from two words Bio meaning life and diversity meaning variability.

NoodleTools

NoodleTools
NoodleTools is an online tool designed to help you plan, complete, and collaborate on projects. One of the most popular features is its citation creation application. This feature helps you create a bibliography in MLA or APA format. lt also helps you take notes and organize your paper. Log in with your school Google email address.