Keystone Academy Libraries: MS Design: Grade 6 Fly Your Banner

Possible Keywords and Inquiry Questions for Fly Your Banner

Some possible keywords for searches on this unit are: Maori, North American Indians, African tribes, facial markings, totem poles, facial tattoos, national costumes, cultural identity, school uniforms, flags, symbols, flag design

What symbols are used to communicate identities in different tribes around the world?

How are the symbols used to show identity?

Should we have facial tattoos?

What identifies each nation's cultural identity?

How is color and pattern used in national costumes?

Does our school uniform represent our personal expression?

How are colors and symbols used in national flags?

Does the Keystone flag represent its community?

Keystone Middle School Design Databases for Fly Your Banner

Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Imagery and clip art materials (infographics, signs and symbols, graphic concepts, and cool vector illustrations) all are rights-cleared for educational, non-commercial use.
Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/
(off campus only)

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Britannica School provides general encyclopedia information. It is good for finding information about a topic when you begin research. It includes up-to-date information sources and allows you to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed.
Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/
(off campus only)

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/

Newsela This link opens in a new window
Newsela is a reading tool that provides news articles designed to match a student's reading level.
Only for Faculty and students.
Sign in with your E-mail address and password.

WebPath Express This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access 85,000+ trustworthy and relevant PreK-12 websites. Provides website content and age-appropriate results separated by grade level.
Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/

World Book Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World Book is a general information encyclopedia database with an American slant. Use this source to find out about your topic when you begin research.
Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/

Websites About Fly Your Banner

10 Interesting African Tribal Tattoos
Awesome traditional tattoos and the significance behind their meanings.
14 totally terrific totem pole facts
Have you ever seen a totem pole?
15 Unusual Traditional National Costumes From Around The World
One of the most amazing aspects of the different countries of the world, is the fact that each one retains its national identity.
African Garb
The African continent is a wonderfully diverse place with an incredible array of people, animals, and places.
African patterns
Africa has a wealth of patterns, everywhere you look you will see repetitions of shapes and colours, textures and lines laid out in all sorts of arrangements.
American Indian Totem Poles
Totem poles are an ancient tradition of the Indian tribes of the Pacific Northwest Coast--Washington state in the USA, British Columbia in Canada--and some of the Athabaskan tribes of southern Alaska.
Crazy, Amazing, Brave Face Tattoos
Crazy, amazing, brave face tattoos!
Face tattoos: a trend that is here to stay?
Face tattoos, once limited to only a very small group of people, have gained new popularity thanks to today's rappers -- but some artists are reluctant to make such a permanent change to a client's appearance.
Face Tattoos Go Mainstream
Post Malone and Justin Bieber are the most visible examples of how ink has crossed a new line.
History of Traditional African Masks
One of the main characteristics of culture of African peoples is use of masks in rituals and ceremonies.
In pictures: traditional dress around the world
Ostensibly the simplest item of clothing possible – a single length of fabric, up to nine metres long – the sari is also one of the world’s most versatile and stylish garments, which can be draped in dozens of different ways.
Maori Tattoo: The Definitive Guide to Ta Moko
In the past, Ta Moko tattoos traditionally represented particular Maori tribes but for those of different heritage/ancestry – this is not the case. However, the tattoo can have a range of other legitimate meanings, such as your family (physical lives), prosperity, travel, strength, your career path etc.
Meaning of symbols on African clothing
Imagery on clothing or traditional attire worn in most African countries has different meanings.
Māori identity
This chapter examines the history of Māori identity and its central features.
National Costumes of the World Gallery
National costumes help preserve a country's heritage.
Role of symbols and icons among the BaTonga
SYMBOLS and icons play an important part in the culture of many African tribes.
Ta moko - significance of Māori tattoos
Ta moko - traditional Māori tattooing, often on the face - is a taonga (treasure) to Māori for which the purpose and applications are sacred.
Totem pole
Totem pole, carved and painted log, mounted vertically, constructed by the Indians of the Northwest Coast of the United States and Canada.
Totem Poles
What are totem poles?
Tribal marks of Nigerian people and what they mean
Before modernisation took over, various ethnic groups in Nigeria had their special facial markings peculiar to the tribe.
What Is a Totem Pole?
Totem poles are sculptures carved from large trees, such as the Western Red Cedar.
What is that on your face? African tribal marks and their meanings
Yoruba tribal marks
Where Do Totem Poles Originate From?
The totem pole, also sometimes referred to as a monumental pole, is a unique, hand-carved monument created by Indigenous peoples of the Northwest Coast of North America to variously portray family legends and lineage, spirituality, sacred or mythological beings, and culturally important animals, people or events.
Country flags of the world
Being an important symbol of the sovereign state, the national flags describe in their colors and design the history and the present day of the countries.
List of all country flags in the world by alphabet
List of all country flags in the world by alphabet.

NoodleTools

NoodleTools
NoodleTools is an online tool designed to help you plan, complete, and collaborate on projects. One of the most popular features is its citation creation application. This feature helps you create a bibliography in MLA or APA format. lt also helps you take notes and organize your paper. Log in with your school Google email address.