Keystone Academy Libraries: MS Design: Grade 8 Disaster Shelter

Possible Keywords and Inquiry Questions for Disaster Shelter

Some possible keywords for searches on this unit are: community, space, efficient space, natural disasters, disaster, civic engagement, tornado, drought, earthquake, flood.

What is a community? What do you need to create a community?

Can you create an instant community?

Do you need communities?

What does a family of three need to live?

How to use space efficiently?

Do we need big houses to live in when the population is getting so big?

What are the major types of natural disasters that happen in the world?

How do natural disasters affect the community?

Should scientists be able to prevent natural disasters by now?

Keystone Middle School Design Databases for Disaster Shelter

Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Imagery and clip art materials (infographics, signs and symbols, graphic concepts, and cool vector illustrations) all are rights-cleared for educational, non-commercial use.
Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/
(off campus only)

Flood
Residential area flooded by the Ohio River during the flood of 1997.
San Francisco Earthquake
Aftermath of the 1989 earthquake in San Francisco, California.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Britannica School provides general encyclopedia information. It is good for finding information about a topic when you begin research. It includes up-to-date information sources and allows you to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed.
Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/
(off campus only)

Community
Community, also called biological community, in biology, an interacting group of various species in a common location.
Natural Disaster
The term natural disaster usually refers to a catastrophic event resulting from a natural process, such as a storm or a volcanic eruption.
Village
A village is a community made up of a small number of houses, usually in a country area.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/

Natural Disasters
The term natural disasters refers to disruptive events in nature that can cause catastrophic damage and loss of life in a populated area, such as blizzards, earthquakes, floods, sinkholes, hurricanes, tornadoes, tsunamis, volcanic eruptions, and wildfires.
Natural Disasters and Victims Worldwide, 1990-2013
Natural Disasters and Victims Worldwide, 1990-2013.
Recovering from disasters: Social networks matter more than bottled water and batteries
Rather than waiting for assistance from the government, these areas are creating their own plans for mitigating future crises.

Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Gale Power Search to search all the Gale databases at once. Discover a collection of authoritative periodicals, scholarly journals, newspapers, and reference content.
Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/

Newsela This link opens in a new window
Newsela is a reading tool that provides news articles designed to match a student's reading level.
Only for Faculty and students.
Sign in with your E-mail address and password.

"It's beautiful": volunteers fan out to help communities flooded by Harvey
John Brown brought his fishing boat, a battered 16-foot skiff, and piloted it around submerged streets and avenues, seeking strangers to rescue.
Attuned to temblors: How well can scientists forecast massive earthquakes?
Earthquakes surprise their victims.
Big Sur landslide sends a million tons of dirt and rock into Pacific Ocean
Highway 1 runs along the cliffs and coastline in Big Sur, California.
Chef feeds disaster victims, delivers dispatches from the front lines
It seems Chef José Andrés is in the eye of every new hurricane relief effort in the United States.
Even kids can have a role in helping after natural disasters
Over the past weeks, many images and stories from the devastation caused by Hurricane Harvey were shared.
How to save your pet’s life in a natural disaster
As residents of southern Florida prepared for Hurricane Irma, many included four-legged family members in their plans.
The plight of refugees, asylum-seekers and IDPs around the globe
Refugees are people who must leave their home area for their own safety or survival.
Puerto Rico education system copes with effects of Hurricane Maria
Neida Ortiz woke up in the tent outside her house on a warm January morning.
Science Winds, fire, floods and quakes: A nutty run of nature
With four big hurricanes, a powerful earthquake and wildfires, it seems that nature recently has just gone nuts.

WebPath Express This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access 85,000+ trustworthy and relevant PreK-12 websites. Provides website content and age-appropriate results separated by grade level.
Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/

Early Warning Systems
The term 'early warning' is used in many fields to describe the provision of information on an emerging dangerous hazard that enables advance action to reduce the associated risks.
Integrated Public Alert & Warning System
This section contains general information about the Integrated Public Alert and Warning System (IPAWS), the nation’s alert and warning infrastructure.
Texas flood exposes serious weaknesses in high-tech warning systems
The Memorial Day weekend flood in Texas was a test for regional flood warning systems employed by local and federal emergency agencies.

World Book Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World Book is a general information encyclopedia database with an American slant. Use this source to find out about your topic when you begin research.
Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/

Community
Community, in the social sciences, is a group of people who share similar beliefs and customs and who may live in the same area.
Disaster
Disaster is a sudden, extremely unfortunate event that affects many people in a negative manner.
Major Disasters
From the Disaster Article.

Websites for Disaster Shelter

California tests natural disaster early warning system
An early warning system for earthquakes, tsunamis and floods is being trialled in the US.
Community
The most lasting images of popular culture and life ordinarily resonate with at least one of the basic ideals that compose American identity.
Disaster Detector
The citizens of Smithsonville are in dire need of a Disaster Detector!
Drought: The Dust Bowl
The article offers information on the term "Dust Bowl" which was coined in 1935 by Robert E. Geiger after Black Sunday, a massive dust storm that blew across the Oklahoma Panhandle on April 14, 1935.
Earthquakes Hazards
Science for a changing world.
Emergency Alerts
Public safety officials use timely and reliable systems to alert you and your family in the event of natural or man-made disasters.
Evaluation of the early warning, alert and response system after Cyclone Winston, Fiji, 2016
Assess the performance of an early warning, alert and response system (EWARS) developed by the World Health Organization (WHO).
Hazards and Emergencies
Across Canada, we face a number of natural hazards, which can vary from region to region.
Know the Risks in Your Community
In Canada, there are many hazards that affect people daily.
Natural Hazards
Every year in the United States, natural hazards threaten lives and livelihoods and result in billions of dollars in damage.
NWS SKYWARN Storm Spotter Program
In most years, thunderstorms, tornadoes and lightning caused hundreds of injuries and deaths and billions in property and crop damages.
Predicting Earthquakes
Finding future earthquakes. I'm Bob Hirshon and this is Science Update.
Your 5-step crisis management cheat sheet
When disaster strikes, don't panic. Just remember the basics.

NoodleTools

NoodleTools
NoodleTools is an online tool designed to help you plan, complete, and collaborate on projects. One of the most popular features is its citation creation application. This feature helps you create a bibliography in MLA or APA format. lt also helps you take notes and organize your paper. Log in with your school Google email address.