Keystone Academy Libraries: MS Language & Literature: Grade 9 Beauty

Possible Keywords for Beauty

Some possible keywords for searches about Beauty are: beauty, body image, plastic surgery, cosmetic surgery, obesity, fitness, diet, nutrition, health, self image, self-esteem, cosmetics.

Books in the Middle School Library About Beauty

Beauty Sick by Renee Engeln
Call Number: 362.2 ENG

ISBN: 0062469770

Publication Date: 2017-04-18
Body Image by Heidi Williams
Call Number: 306.4 BOD

ISBN: 0737741821

Publication Date: 2008-09-05
Cosmetic Surgery by Marcia Amidon Lusted
Call Number: 617.9 LUS

ISBN: 160453530X

Publication Date: 2009-08-01
The Debate about Cosmetic Surgery by Kaye Stearman
Call Number: 174 STE

ISBN: 1435896505

Publication Date: 2010-07-15
Operation Beautiful by Caitlin Boyle
Call Number: 646.7 BOY

ISBN: 0448457563

Publication Date: 2012-12-27
You Have the Right to Remain Fat by Virgie Tovar
Call Number: 613 TOV

ISBN: 9781936932313

Publication Date: 2018-08-14

Keystone Middle School Language & Literature Databases for Beauty

Britannica School
Britannica School provides general encyclopedia information. It is good for finding information about a topic when you begin research. It includes up-to-date information sources and allows you to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed.

Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/
(off campus only)

Beauty
Unlike aesthetics, which was not used as a term until after the 1750s, beauty has been a matter of thoughtful discussion and disagreement for many centuries.
Cosmetic
Cosmetic, any of several preparations (excluding soap) that are applied to the human body for beautifying, preserving, or altering the appearance or for cleansing, colouring, conditioning, or protecting the skin, hair, nails, lips, eyes, or teeth.
Plastic surgery
The medical specialty of plastic surgery is concerned with the reshaping of body tissues.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/

What Social Media Showed Me About Perceptions of Black Women in Beauty
A woman stands proudly in a fur coat, balanced on tall black heels like a boss.
Why more men are wearing makeup than ever before
Male grooming is now a multi-billion pound worldwide industry, thanks to a growing number of men spending more on their appearance.
Standards of Beauty Are Determined by Evolutionary Biology
According to the theory of evolutionary biology, beauty standards are those characteristics that will attract a mate who will pass genes on to the next generation, claims psychology professor Glenn Wilson.

Gale in Context: World History
Gale In Context: World History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. World History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/

The Art of Adornment
Perhaps one of the greatest African art forms is the adornment of the human body.
Body Image
Body image is a familiar phrase in contemporary American culture.
The Relationship between Body Image and Lifestyle Choices in College Students
The college years bring with them a lifestyle different than any other phase of life; college students are mainly on their own for the first time but also often do not have the same adult responsibilities as college graduates who have transitioned into the "real world."

Gale Power Search
Use Gale Power Search to search all the Gale databases at once. Discover a collection of authoritative periodicals, scholarly journals, newspapers, and reference content.

Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/

Perceived attractiveness of Czech faces across 10 cultures: Associations with sexual shape dimorphism, averageness, fluctuating asymmetry, and eye color.
In social interactions, human attention is rapidly and strongly oriented toward the rich and complex content of human faces.
The price of beauty: an economist measures the wages of attractiveness
Beautiful people are indeed happier, a new study says, but not always for the same reasons.
The puzzle of pretty boys: sure, women lust after boy toy actors and buff soccer players. But that doesn't mean they won't happily get hitched to an average guy. Men's looks matter, but not for the reasons you think
We know intuitively that men's looks aren't as important as women's. And yet, they do matter.

Newsela
Newsela is a reading tool that provides news articles designed to match a student's reading level.

Only for Faculty and students.
Sign in with your E-mail address and password.

"My Cuban Body" by Carolina Hospital
"Soon all the models became Twiggy look-alikes, and she became the standard for us to aim for, an impossible goal for a Cubanita with already emerging curves and protrusions..." Hospital describes the discomfort she felt as a young girl with a developing body.
Let's Get Real: Our Relationship With Food, Exercise & Appearance
Our culture has complicated relationships with food, exercise, and appearance, which the articles in this text set help illustrate.
Redefining Beauty Standards
"Beauty is in the eye of the beholder" — what's beautiful today may not be tomorrow. Read about society's changing ideas of beauty and their effects on women's body image and self-esteem.

WebPath Express
Access 85,000+ trustworthy and relevant PreK-12 websites. Provides website content and age-appropriate results separated by grade level.

Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/

Beauty Contests
The concept of the beauty contest dates from early Greek mythology, when the goddesses Athena, Aphrodite, and Hera competed for the prize of beauty, judged by the Trojan prince Paris.
Physical Culture
The twentieth-century preoccupation with physical fitness can be traced to the ancient Greek culture's ideal of the human body typifying health, strength, and moral rectitude.
The Swimsuit Series, Part 2: Beauty Pageants and the Inevitable Swimsuit Competition
In the latest chapter of the series, we look at how bathing suits came to be an integral part of the Miss America competition.

World Book Online
World Book is a general information encyclopedia database with an American slant. Use this source to find out about your topic when you begin research.

Go to the home page of Destiny for login information: https://library.keystoneacademy.cn/

Beauty pageant
Beauty pageant is a kind of contest.
Cosmetics
Cosmetics are substances applied to a person's body to cleanse, promote attractiveness, or alter the appearance.
Plastic surgery
Plastic surgery is a field of medicine devoted to molding or rearranging tissues of the body.

Websites about Beauty

Child beauty pageants should be scrutinised over sexualisation concerns, committee recommends
Child beauty pageants should be scrutinised as one of several ways to tackle the sexualisation of West Australian children, a parliamentary report has recommended.
Cosmetics History and Facts
With over 10 thousand years of experience, chemists, cosmetologists, fashion designers, religious leaders and governments had incredible impact over the world of cosmetics.
History of Makeup
From the copper and lead ore that the ancient Egyptians used to create the world's first cosmetics to the scientifically advanced products of today that can do everything from hide pores, smooth complexions, and turn the pale green of your eyes a vivid shade of emerald, makeup has been an integral part of humankind for thousands of years.
No One Wants to Admit They’re Ugly, Which Makes It Hard to Fight Beauty Bias
Nobody wants to join the ugly lobby, but that might be what we need to battle “lookism.”
Philippines: How to make a beauty queen
Sandra Seifert is tall, pretty, smart and articulate, but it took a while for her to decide she wanted to take part in a beauty pageant in the Philippines.
Plastic Surgery
When you hear of plastic surgery, what do you think of?
The Risks & Rewards of Plastic Surgery
The Decision to Undergo Plastic Surgery Should Not Be Made Lightly

NoodleTools

NoodleTools
NoodleTools is an online tool designed to help you plan, complete, and collaborate on projects. One of the most popular features is its citation creation application. This feature helps you create a bibliography in MLA or APA format. lt also helps you take notes and organize your paper. Log in with your school Google email address.